Home > Fateha, Fateha's Journey > The Misunderstood Preemie

The Misunderstood Preemie

when she was still a week old, and in NICU, one of her doctors told me that she’d be mentally re- (boy i can’t even say that word) due to IntraVentricular Hemorrhage (bleeding in the brain) at stage 2 . i was offended of course and especially when that doctor told me to pull off her ventilation and let her ‘go’. of course, i told her NO. let God do His miracle on her.

DSC01726

anyway, she seems to be learning some simple words. although she doesn’t say it but her reactions tell us that she understands.

-when i say “kiss”, she’d gladly lean closer to my face with her tiny mouth wide open and give me a kiss. either on the mouth or cheeks.

-when i say “clap your hands”, she’d clap eagerly. and her Erb’s hand is moving together to clap though the movements are minimal. i’m just glad to see that there is an improvement. whenever we got on the bus, after i picked her up from the babysitter’s, people would ask me if she’s a lefty because she’s using her left hand more. i’d just nod.

-when i praised her, saying “clever girl”, she’d clap her hands and show me her two front teeth.

and even her therapist told me that her cognitive development should be okay (he dare not say more, i understand). i hated that doctor for thinking negatively and saying bad things about my kid. no moral support from her whatsoever.

right now, i’m just happy with the achievements that Fateha is showing me. be it slower than normal. i don’t care. she will get there!

  1. August 12, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Yes yes yes she will get there, in her own time. It took me almost 2 years to realize this, I wish I had accepted this sooner, I made myself sick on many occasions, all he needed was time, his own time and looking back I wasted so much time worrying. Our kiddos are amazing, they are going to do whatever they put their minds too, we were talked to about taking Kellar off the vent when they found out about his bleeds but like you there was no way I was going to agree to that and look at him now! Our kids have their own “charts” they go by and though it may not be when the others are doing it THEY WILL get there!!!

  2. August 12, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    ohh chrystal, it’s just so hard NOT to worry at all. LOL. i know and i’m sure she WILL be doing it one day but sometimes, mothers can be so eager and impatient 🙂 heheh.

    yea, i totally agree. i think every child, perfect or not, has the right to stay alive. God has given him/her a live and God is the One to bring them back. we shouldn’t send them to Him at our own disadvantage!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you say?

