Home > Events, Faizah > when i grow up…

when i grow up…

waaay when i was still a preschooler, i dreamed of being a teacher. it went on till i was in my pre-teenage years. i remembered scrawling on the walls along the corridor with chalks i stole from my classroom (sorry, mak!) and even at home. yea, you guessed it, i was pretending to be a teacher. and my students? they were imaginary *wink*

who would have known that i became what i dreamed to be? how many of us actually achieved our ambition, that we made when we were so young? till today i find it very surreal.

the doors of teaching opened up for me when i was doing my O Levels in 1998. yes. at that time, my mom was a preschool teacher and her school needed an assistant teacher in january for the nursery class. i got to assist that class for 2 hours everyday. (i had to skip my O Levels English remedial class…for a month! i was approached by my teacher and got good scolding; told her that i was working. till today, i still remember every word she said to me. “Yah, your “work” is more important than your O Levels, right?”)

but of course, i completed my O Levels with mid-flying colours. i didn’t score very good marks but at least i passed! with my results, i didn’t even get a chance to go to polytechnic, let alone college. i was qualified for ITE but i refused to register myself there.

in 1999, i took the chance to be a relief teacher in the same preschool my mom was working in but at that time, she had already left for a better paying job with the government. since i had a month long experience, the principal let me in with open arms. i was called up every week to cover a teacher who was either on leave or mc. then came a time where i was to relief a class for 3 months.

halfway through my service, the principal asked if i was interested to be a full-time teacher. i said yes and she KIV-ed my name. in the event a teacher resigned, i would take that place. YIPPPEEEEEEEE!!!! i was called up in november by the administrator saying that they need a teacher for a totally new centre. she interviewed me and i got the job! so easy, right? and in december 1999, i started my career as a full-time preschool teacher with only 4 O Level credits. (yaaa i know, i wasn’t a smart ass.)

and from then on, till today, i find myself stuck in this path. i was sent for courses, workshops and also diploma in teaching and all fully paid for. best, kan? but it has never been easy. it is a terrible roller coaster ride. (no, i’m not saying that teaching is terrible. i was talking about the roller coaster.) anyone who thinks “aiyaaah, teaching kindergarten chewren is easy what. abc, 123 only maaah. what’s so difficult?”, i have only this to say. you get your ignorant ass down here and take over.

by sticking to this line for almost 12 years, i just realised that i have a strong perseverance (or maybe i got no other choice). yes, i have thought of quitting and leaving for good. sending my resumes to some government bodies and private companies for a place in their organization and getting turned down every time just proved me one thing. i’m not cut to be out of the classroom.

and for staying loyal *rolls eyes*…

i got myself a long service award during the K2 Graduation Night 2011. nothing beats getting a hand shake from an MP, with an official photographer doing what he does best.

oh i’m sure my administrator would say, “waaaahh you take photo with your brother, aaah?”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you say?

